JS

I’ve been reading the Reading Strategies Book by Jennifer Serravallo. This book was first recommended to me by my colleague L.H. and by  Aimee Buckner ,whom I had the great pleasure of working with , this summer at our school division’s “Back to School Ignite” session.

There are many things I like about this book. The layout is really practical. Jennifer starts with a concise introduction explaining how to use it. The introduction is followed by 13 goals influenced by the work of John Hattie, to help students improve their reading, by setting clear goals for students. Within each of the 13 goals there are answers to questions such as “how do I know this is right for my students?” accompanied by suggested strategies. There is a side bar on each page titled “who is this for?” which tells you which Fountas and Pinnell  reading level the strategy is intended for, what genre(s) it addresses ,and suggests what skills students might need.  There are also book recommendations and colourful photographs of anchor charts to co-create with students.

This book is a must for every school’s professional library, but I would highly recommend it as a support for beginning elementary school teachers as well.

I will be posting lessons I try from it!!

