asking questions No DavidOn the first day I had an anchor chart ready with the title of the strategy and the tile of the book, as well as the words Before, During and After . I asked the children to look carefully at the cover and I wrote down some of their questions. I was careful to point out that I would not be writing down everybody’s question. We discussed how some questions might not have an answer and that’s ok, but it is important to ask questions that pertain to the story. As each child asked a question, I put their initials at the end of the question. This is very helpful  for assessment purposes.

We began to read the story and I took a few more questions as I read. AT the end of the story, we added a few more and then went back through the story to see which questions we now had answers to. We talked about how asking questions keeps us focused and helps us know if we are understanding what we are reading.

At the end of the process we had the children meet in small groups to discuss any questions they still might have. Again, this is a good opportunity to assess how students are questioning. A simple class list with space to write beside each name, allows you to check off who is asking questions, as well as what kind of questions they are asking. Teaching children question words is helpful for this strategy!

Introduction   Day Two   Day Three     Day Four   Day Five   Day Six

