Cover of "Do I Really Have to Teach Readi...
Cover of Do I Really Have to Teach Reading?

I felt so privileged to hear Cris speak at the reading conference this spring. Unlike a lot of presenters she is still teaching and in touch with kids. Her vast amount of knowledge and experience gives her credibility. Even though it was the end of the day on a Friday afternoon she had a captivated audience.She reminded me that we must believe all children can read and they need to know we believe it. Thank you Cris!!!

I read Do I really Have to Teach Reading? when I was working with my grade 6-8 struggling readers. I realized then how many assumptions I (and their teachers) had been making about these  readers.  All three of her books are well worth the read. Teachers of younger students will find her books informative , but they are really geared to grade 6 and up.

What a great staff book club suggestion!!!


So What Do They Really Know?

So What Do They Really Know?

